Office of the County Historian
Arcadia, New York
The town of Arcadia was formed from the town of Lyons on February 15, 1825. Arcadia is comprised of approximately 31,000 acres of fertile soil and gently rolling drumlins, the highest point of which is Brantling Hill, Wayne County's only ski slope, and the lowest point of which is the nationally known Zurich Bog.
The village of Newark was first called Miller's Basin in honor of Capt. Joseph Miller who contracted to build a section of the Erie Canal through this region. About three quarters of a mile east of Newark a settlement later known as Lockville began around 1805. It became known as Lockville because of the three locks built near the settlement on the original Erie Canal. In 1839, the settlement of Lockville became incorporated as the village of Arcadia. Newark and Lockville both prospered as a result of the Erie Canal, and in 1853, the village of Newark was incorporated. The former village of Arcadia (Lockville) was included in the corporation.
The hamlet of Hydesville, northwest of the village of Newark became known throughout the world as the birthplace of modern Spiritualism, when, allegedly, Margaret and Katie Fox made contact with the spirit world on March 31, 1848.
Today, the population of the town of Arcadia numbers 14,889, with 9,682 living in the village of Newark. Newark is known as Wayne County's center of industry, with such well-known companies as Fold-Pak Corp., Hallagan Manufacturing, IEC Electronics and UltraLife Batteries.
Arcadia Historical Museum, 120 High Street, Newark
- The museum features displays of local artifacts including quilts & coverlets, Newark milk bottles and items from the Jackson & Perkins Company and their famous rose gardens. Open July - October, Saturdays 1 - 3 pm, or by appointment. (315) 331-4078
Hoffman Clock Museum, High Street, Newark
- A unique collection of timepieces. Exhibits introduce visitors to timekeeping history and development of clock styles, with a special emphasis on the history of New York State clockmakers. The majority of the timepieces were collected by Augustus L. and Jennie D. Hoffman of Newark, New York. The Hoffman Foundation established the museum to carry out the dream of the Hoffmans that the collection be preserved for the enjoyment and education of their community. Located in the Newark Library. Open year round during library hours. (315) 331-4370
* United States Post Office, South Main Street, Newark
- Constructed in 1911 - 1913, the building was designed by James Knox Taylor, Supervising Architect of the Treasury Department from 1887 - 1912, and is of the era of individually designed federal buildings. The exterior stucco finish is unique among Taylor's New York work. The interior features a terrazzo floor, bordered with white marble trim and white marble baseboards. The walls are paneled with oak to a height of 11 feet.
Marbletown Centennial Schoolhouse, 6631 Miller Road, Newark
- Built in 1876, this former District No. 5 one-room schoolhouse features original furnishings and bell. Now owned by the Arcadia Historical Society. Open by appointment. (315) 331-4078